Affirmation in a Horoscope

2 Aug

Do you ever notice that your horoscope is bang on? I don’t read mine very often but when I do I can’t help but be amazed by how closely it fits in with everything that is going on with my life. Tonight, while sitting at my moms new home (without cable, internet, or a good book) I decided to pick up her latest gossip rag. Flipping through the pages, I finally stumbled upon horoscopes and read mine.

 
Libra
“If you’re not sure you know who you are anymore, remember who you used to be. Then ask yourself who you’d like to become. This will help you gain a reliable fix on your current position. You are well on your way to where you are going, and you are in the “right place” for the right things to happen naturally around you. This week brings a chance to rediscover and old source of contentment and explore a fresh opportunity. You don’t yet know how fine your future will be, but you are about to find out.”
 
These may be words strung together perfectly enough to relate to anyone’s life, but at this very moment they really hit home for me. For the past few months I have been making a personal and conscious effort to figure out exactly who I am and what I want from life. And in doing so, I have made good, bad, and drastic decisions. But they are decisions that I felt, and still feel, needed to be made. They are allowing me to think for, and discover, myself. 
 
After university I chose a path I didn’t intend to travel. Ten months later I realized how unhappy I was with that decision. It’s not that I was in a bad place, it just happened to be a place my heart wasn’t in. I felt I had no choice but to drop everything. And I did just that; I left my job, the home and the life I was building, and finally the city. I booked a one-way ticket and ventured where I had been planning on going all along. As soon as the plane landed I felt the biggest relief. In my heart I knew I was exactly where I was supposed to be, doing exactly what I was supposed to be doing. Having been here for a couple of months, I am getting used to being on my own again, thinking for myself, doing what I want without having to ask permission. My mind is clear and everything I want and need is starting to come into focus.
 
This week did bring a chance to rediscover myself, to ask myself questions I should have been asking all along. Questions of which I already knew the answers to but hadn’t recognized. But now that I am acknowledging everything around me and in my heart, while I don’t yet know the future, I feel like I am about to find out. 

Leave a comment